How do you pronounce Keurig?

Okay, time for me to address a minor pet-peeve.

We own a Keurig coffee maker; which we adore! It’s at least three years old and has never exhibited a single problem. Usually, before I purchase any electronic, I like to do a lot of research on the competition before I make my final decision. All I needed was the taste test.

As they say with video game consoles, one machine’s technical specifications may be vastly superior to another but it all comes down to content. Who has the best games? In the case of the single-cup coffee makers, who offers the best tasting variety of coffee, tea, and other hot beverages? The Keurig’s largest competitor, the Tassimo, had a decent flavor while the Phillips Senso was downright awful. I declared the Keurig the winner after comparing their wide variety of available K-Cups to the list of Tassimo Pods.

Now, it seems most Americans pronounce the company name as “cure-ig” (with an especially thick mid-western hard R). I assure you, that’s not correct. Others, myself included, pronounce it “care-ig“. While that’s closer… it’s still not entirely correct.

The Keurig coffee company was founded in 1992 by Olaf Keurig, a Dutchman. The proper Dutch pronunciation actually sounds more like “keer-ech”.

Regardless, I’ll feign American ignorance, and continue pronouncing it with Care.

4 thoughts on “How do you pronounce Keurig?

  1. I cringed hard at the commercial for this. German pronounciation would make it “Koy-Ric” or “Koy-rish” depending on where you were raised… I am not a coffee drinker and have seen these in stores but not ever once a commercial..til now. I had to know exactly where the name came from as I defaulted it naturally as German. I was close and the commercial is still wrong! I am happy I do not watch much tv but someone should inform this company to get things right. Not that they would do anything… I’m just saying. I understand your view on feigning american ignorance as I feel I must do this constantly because proper pronounciation for things like this get me strange looks and “come again?” -.-

Leave a Reply

