Book List 2012

I am what you might call a slow reader. I know it and I’m not particularly proud of it.

In an effort to improve, I decided to set a goal for myself at the very beginning of 2012: read twelve books this year. One per month. As 2012 draws to a close I am proud to report that I’ve successfully finished 18 books and am currently working through the nineteenth.

Below is the list of books (titles that I highly recommend have been marked with an asterisk).

Steve Jobs by Walter Isacson*
Born to Run by Christopher McDougall
Helmet for my Pillow by Robert Leckie*
Weight by Jeanette Winterson
Ready Player One by Ernest Cline*
Reamde by Neal Stephenson
Boomerang by Michael Lewis
11/22/63 by Steven King*
Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
Devil in the White City by Erik Larson*
Snow Crash by Neal Stephenson
Destiny of the Republic by Candice Millard*
Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card
Ghost in the Wires by Kevin Mitnick
Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn
Where Ever I Wind Up by R. A. Dickey
Robopocalypse by Daniel H. Wilson
The River of Doubt by Candice Millard*

Currently Reading: Island of the Lost by Joan Druett

Upcoming titles include Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore, Beautiful Ruins, and 1Q84. If you can think of any other recommendations (books that simply cannot go un-read) please sound off in the comment section.

New Book

Speaking of books: this showed up randomly (and quite anonymously) in my in-box this week. I assume the person I should be thanking dropped this off in response to my last blog entry. It’s a very clever book and I enjoy it very much. Thank you, whoever you are!

Leave a Reply

