Shake Like You Changed: Remix

I’m not all up in your face about it but I also don’t hide the fact that I’m a Christian. It’s also no secret that I really can’t stand that new hit song by MercyMe.

I’m pretty open about it.

In fact, I regularly voice my musical opinions. Anyone who spent any amount of time around me last year knows how much I gushed over the new Daft Punk album, Random Access Memories. The day after you could stream it on iTunes (May 15, 2013) I was telling anyone who would listen to me that Daft Punk’s newest record would win album of the year.

I don’t mean to say I told you so, but…

Anyway, I digress. Back to the original reason for this post.

If you’ve never heard of the Christian band MercyMe it’s probably because you’re under the age of 40. For those unfamiliar, MercyMe is a small group of balding, overweight, middle-aged, men who have recently decided they’d like to go Pop.

Some say that sounds ridiculous. I say, why stop there?

My personal suggestion is this: if MercyMe really wants to take their art to the next level they should go ahead and do a club remix coloboration with Daft Punk. They may even want to add a hashtag to the song title. #thatSHAKE

Bart Millard, if you’re reading this, I encourage you to really branch out, explore the studio space, and market toward that young NextGen audience who wouldn’t listen to you anyway. And if you still can’t reach the youth at least try to light a [holy] fire under the grey-haired DJ’s working at those easy listening stations you’re currently overplayed on.

I think it would go a little something like this (performed to the tune of Daft Punks “Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger” from their most excellent sophomore album, Discovery).

Twerk it. Shake it. Move it. Change us.

Broken / Better / Shamed, no longer.

More than ever, shake it brother.

Even after church is over.

Twerk it. Shake it. Move it. Change us.

Broken / Better / Shamed, no longer.

Shake it harder. I am better.

Move it faster. Faith is stronger.

Naturally, the key is going to be dropping a supa’ phat beat while maintaining MercyMe’s profound and prolific lyrics (like those abundantly on display in “Shake”). Now, they do have to be careful not to give people the wrong impression. The goal should always be to encourage the Christian-folk to “get out’cha seat an’ shake what the Father gave ya!”… and, of course, to let the worldly-folk know that Bible bangers can bust a serious groove for Jesus.

Can I get an Amen?

Please, don’t misunderstand! I’m not some sort of prude and I don’t mean to suggest that every single Christian song must reach a level of reverence and artistry equal to Bringing in the Sheaves, Amazing Grace, and/or How Great Thou Art. There’s nothing wrong with most Christian Rock, R&B, or Pop music – in fact, I own and enjoy a great deal of it. Hillsong: Young & Free comes to mind; as do TobyMac, Shawn McDonald, and Lecrae.

There’s just something about this particular song that bothers me… and it’s probably the lyrics that require each listener to ask the simple question: How does one shake like they’re changed?!

Are we supposed do the Jerk, the Twist, the Funky Chicken, or some combination of all three? Maybe we just stand there and vibrate. It’s just not clear.

There’s always the chance it’s a new and improved sort of gyration we’re not yet familiar with (you know how these things move up and out through the circles of popular influence).

Is this song some kind of a viral campaign to encourage a super-spiritual version of the Harlem Shake?

We. Just. Don’t. Know.

A friend recently offered the suggestion, “It’s open ended. Whatever you were shaking like before – just change it.”

The song’s only clear instruction is that I must move my feet (‘cause I’m free). Well, in that case, the lyricist might be instructing all of us to clear out immediately after the service ends. “Finally! That sermon lasted forever. Move yo’ feet, we free!! I’m out! #PEACE”

The change is in your posture – that much is self-evident (you were slumping in your seat and now you’re standing) but what exactly does that have to do with shaking…?

Of course! They meant I’m supposed to shake the pastor’s hand after the service. “Good message, Reverend. I’m a changed man!”.

Vacate you’re seat immediately after prayer. Nice firm handshake. A genuine smile. Compliment. MercyMe is cryptically telling us to invite our Pastors out to Perkins after church.

Well, that’s not so bad! I guess it’s a pretty good song after all.

#SmileEmoticon #BreadbowlSalad #HopeAndChange

Leave a Reply

