Am I Naive?

Today, I asked a trusted friend if I am naive. By trusted I mean that I can always rely on a straight answer – no sugar coating. She’s a ‘straight shooter’ as they say.

She thought for only a second before responding with “yes, but that can be a good thing”.

The dictionary defines naive like this: Lacking experience, wisdom, or judgement.

How can that be a good thing? Maybe there’s a different definition that I am unaware of? Or maybe it can be seen as a positive quality if/when viewed this way: (of art) Produced in a simple, childlike style, deliberately rejecting sophisticated techniques.

Yeah. It’s a stretch, I know.

Anybody else care to chime in? Add your thoughts in the comment section below.

3 thoughts on “Am I Naive?

  1. The Apostle Paul said at the end of Romans, “…I want you to be wise about what is good, and innocent about what is evil.” If that means being wise about the things of God and lacking sophistication and being artless about evil things – I’ll take being naive any day!!!

  2. It took me thirteen years to get to the highest pay scale at my company under the same boss. I never had any street smarts, and was considered nice and “conciliatory” in interactions with my colleagues. I had confidence in my worth to the company. However, now and then, a new hire who was more worldly, and with more “street smarts” would come in acting like they would cut me out of their way. One day during a discussion with my boss about psychology, he said, “You don’t ever have to worry about these others who come and go. You inspire trust because you’re a straight shooter. As long as I’m General Manager, no one will take your place.” After feeling a little naive and getting sometimes taken advantage of by people who thought of me as “weak”, my boss’s compliment meant a lot! I haven’t changed, although I no longer spend a lot of time or waste my energy in the company of those who don’t know the difference. And, in the comment above, I agree that being innocent of what is evil is a good way to be as long as it isn’t harming you if you’re not aware of it. Self protection is important, too. This is an important topic of discussion.

Leave a comment